National Redress Scheme

Following from the 2017 Royal Commission into Institutional Responses to Child Sexual Abuse, the Commonwealth Government has set up the National Redress Scheme.

The Scheme will provide support to Australian citizens and permanent residents who were sexually abused as children (aged under 18) while in the care of participating governments and institutions at any time before the Scheme starts. Each state and territory will participate and non-government bodies have the option to participate in the Scheme.

The Scheme will start on 1 July 2018. It will run for 10 years.

The National Redress Scheme is an alternative to applying for compensation through the courts.  You will not be able to apply to both the courts and the Scheme for the same events.

Find out:

  • which institutions are covered by the Scheme
  • what compensation the Scheme covers.

Which institutions are included in the Scheme?

The National Redress Scheme is to assist people who were sexually abused as children whilst in care of participating institutions. The Commonwealth Government is pushing for all state governments, churches, charities and other non-government organisations to join up.

The Scheme will cover all institutions run by the Commonwealth Government. Under the Scheme, state and territory governments can also choose to participate in the Scheme, which opens the Scheme to people sexually abused as children whilst in the care of government institutions in those jurisdictions.

It is intended that the Scheme will cover government institutions from:

  • the Commonwealth
  • the Australian Capital Territory
  • New South Wales
  • the Northern Territory
  • Queensland
  • Tasmania
  • South Australia
  • Victoria, and
  • Western Australia.

Western Australia will need to pass legislation in order to participate, which may happen early next year, but people can still apply from 1 July 2018.

Non-government institutions (such as churches and charities) in these states and territories can also choose to join the Scheme. As of 27 June 2018, six major churches and charities have also agreed to join the Scheme– the Catholic Church, Anglican Church, Uniting Church, The Salvation Army, YMCA and Scouts Australia.

The scheme does not cover non-institutional sexual abuse. It may be possible to apply for compensation for events that are not covered by the Scheme.

What will the Scheme cover?

The National Redress Scheme can cover:

  • access to psychological counselling
  • the option to get a direct personal response, such as an apology, from the responsible institution, and
  • a monetary payment of up to $150,000.

Payments will be worked out on a case-by-case basis, depending on the severity and impact of the abuse experienced.

Once the National Redress Scheme starts, people who experienced institutional child sexual abuse will be able to get support from Redress Support Services.

Get help

  • Legal Aid WA does not provide legal advice or help on this scheme.

  • knowmore is an independent service giving free legal advice to help survivors of institutional child sexual abuse by providing them with information and advice about the justice or redress options that may be available to them.This includes possible claims under institutional redress schemes and access to assistance or compensation through victims of crime schemes or common law and civil law rights and claims. Call the free advice line 1800 605 762 Monday to Friday 9am to 5pm AEST/AEDT

More information


Reviewed: 27 June 2018


The information displayed on this page is provided for information purposes only and does not constitute legal advice. If you have a legal problem, you should see a lawyer. Legal Aid Western Australia aims to provide information that is accurate, however does not accept responsibility for any errors or omissions in the information provided on this page or incorporated into it by reference.